Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

VPs Elected, BOG Nominees Announced

VPs Elected, BOG Nominees Announced

The NCBA Board of Governors, convening Friday, April 3, by remote conferencing, elected the following slate of nominees who will serve one-year terms as vice presidents in 2020-21: Judge O. Max Cogburn, Jr. (United States District Court for the Western District of North Carolina, Asheville); Judge Michael J. O’Foghludha (NC Superior Court, Durham); Judge Teresa Harper Vincent (NC District Court, Summerfield); and Dean Jane Aiken (Wake Forest University School of Law, Winston-Salem). The Board of Governors also elected Kenneth G. Carroll (Morningstar Law Group, Raleigh) who will serve a two-year term. 

The Nominations Committee has also submitted the following slate of nominees for a three-year term on the Board of Governors beginning in 2020-21: Rashad Morgan (Brinks Gilson & Lione, Durham); Benjamin Edwards (Lincoln Financial Group, Greensboro); Tawanda Foster Artis (NC General Assembly, Raleigh); Niya Fonville (Campbell Law School, Raleigh); Vincent Childress (Roberts & Stevens PA, Asheville); Casey Ferri (Conrad Trosch & Kemmy PA, Charlotte); and Jerry Walters (Littler Mendelson PC, Charlotte). These nominees will be submitted for election at the NCBA Annual Meeting.

Members who wish to submit additional nominations to the President should refer to Article 10.3(e)(vi)(1) of the NCBA Bylaws. Voting at the Annual Meeting shall be limited to the Nominations Committee nominees and any additional nominees submitted to the President in accordance with Article 10.3 of the NCBA Bylaws.

John Bircher served as chair of the Nominations Committee, whose membership included Rachel Blunk, Beth Langley, Caryn McNeill, Phyllis Pickett, Brandon Robinson, Carlton Williamson and Julian Wright.